top of page
Blue Abstract Shapes


When time is money, speed counts. Harbor Carts takes pride in making sure your job is done correctly and in a timely manner. We understand that service is important! To provide customer satisfaction, we service your cart in our fully equipped shop. With the latest in technology, we can assure you that your cart is in good hands.



Is your golf cart performing as well as it should? Are you finding it difficult to steer your golf cart properly? No matter what the problem is, the professionals at Harbor Carts, LLC can make the repair.



Normally you get 14+ with your stock controller. We build motors to make them faster with a high-speed motor upgrade with speeds 25+ mph. Talk to us today about your need for speed.



If you want to ensure that your golf cart is in peak condition at all times, you need to get it inspected and maintained regularly. Be aware of any safety issues and avoid future costly repairs..



Our mechanics use the latest technology and the best materials to fix your golf cart. We ensure the satisfaction of all our customers.


Do you feel that the golf carts in the market aren't suited to your particular needs? Or, have you been thinking about improving the performance of your existing one? Turn to the experts at Harbor Carts, LLC when you have decided to build your custom golf cart.




Prevent the accumulation of lead sulfate crystals in your battery and extend its life by two to three times by using Battery Life Saver BLS-48N 48v (battery system desulfator rejuvenator). We also utilize lithium ion batteries. 



Florida’s mild climate makes outdoor activities a year-round option. Low speed vehicles (LSV), golf carts and off-highway vehicles (OHV) are a great way to enjoy local communities and natural spaces. It is important that consumers understand the differences between LSVs, golf carts and OHVs, the traffic laws applying to these vehicles, and the regulations regarding registration, titling and insurance.


Low Speed Vehicles

Section 320.01(41), Florida Statutes, defines LSVs as “any four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour, but not greater than 25 miles per hour.”  LSVs must be registered, titled and insured with personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance. Any person operating an LSV must have a valid driver license in their immediate possession.

LSVs may be operated only on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less and must be equipped with the following safety equipment:

  • Headlamps;

  • Front and rear turn signals;

  • Stop lamps;

  • Tail lamps;

  • Reflex reflectors, red – one each side and one on the rear;

  • Exterior mirror on the driver side and an interior rear-view mirror or exterior mirror on passenger side;

  • Parking brake;

  • Windshield;

  • Seat belt for each designated seat; and a

  • Vehicle identification number (VIN).

To title and register an LSV, take the following documents to a Motor Vehicle Service Center:

  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin;

  • Form HSMV 82040 (Application for Title);

  • Proof of Florida insurance (minimum $10,000 PDL and $10, 000 PIP);

  • Identification – driver license, ID card or passport; and

  • Applicable fees

    • Title fee

    • Plate fee

    • Initial registration fee, if applicable

    • Registration fee (varies by weight of vehicle)



Golf Carts

Golf carts are defined in section 320.01(22), Florida Statutes, as “a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 miles per hour.” Golf carts may be operated on roadways that are designated for golf carts with a posted speed limit of 30 mph or less. Golf carts may also cross a portion of a county road which intersects a roadway that is approved for golf carts, or that intersects a golf course or mobile home park. In both examples the roadway should have signs posted that golf carts share the roadway. The operation of golf carts on roads must comply with any more restrictive ordinances enacted by local government and should be verified prior to operating these vehicles.

Golf carts are not required to be titled or registered and, therefore, are not required to be insured with PIP and PDL insurance coverage. Golf cart operators are not required to have a driver license; however, to operate a golf cart on designated public roadways, a person must be 14 years or older.



Converted Golf Carts

Golf carts can be converted to LSVs (see LSV safety equipment requirements above). Buyers should be aware that if a golf cart has been modified to an LSV, the registration and title date do not reflect the manufacture date (age of the vehicle). Instead, it indicates the year it was registered and titled. This means that the vehicle could be older than the date listed on the title.

Titling and Registering a Converted Golf Cart

Prior to titling and registering a converted golf cart, the vehicle must be inspected and assigned a VIN at a Motorist Services Regional Office. The converted golf cart must be street-legal before applying for title and registration.

Trailer the converted golf cart to a Motorist Services Regional Office and present the following documents and fees for an inspection, VIN assignment, title and registration:

  • Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or a bill of sale for the golf cart Form HSMV 84490 (Statement of Builder) completed by customer and Compliance Examiner/Inspector;

  • Form HSMV 86064 (Affidavit for Golf Cart Modified to a Low Speed Vehicle);

  • Original bill(s) of sale or receipt(s) for all parts used to convert the golf cart to a low speed vehicle;

  • Certified weight slip for the converted golf cart;

  • Form HSMSV 82040 (Application for Title);

  • Proof of Florida insurance (minimum $10,000 PDL and $10,000 PIP);

  • Sales tax or sales tax exemption information for all parts;

  • Identification – driver license, ID card or passport; and

  • Applicable fees

    • Inspection fee

    • Title fee

    • Plate fee

    • Initial registration fee, if applicable

    • Registration fee (varies by weight of vehicle)


All-Terrain Vehicles

Florida law, states that all-terrain vehicles (ATV) may only be operated on unpaved roadways where the posted speed limit is less than 35 MPH and only during daylight hours. However, a county may choose to be exempt from this. Or alternatively, a county may, designate certain unpaved roadways where an ATV may be operated during the daytime as long as each such designated roadway has a posted speed limit of less than 35 miles per hour and is appropriately marked to indicate permissible ATV use. Anyone under the age of 16 operating an ATV on public land must be under the supervision of an adult and must have proof of completion of a Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS) safety course. ATV operators and riders under the age of 16 must wear a USDOT approved safety helmet and eye protection. ATVs are titled, but not registered, and are not required to be insured with PIP and PDL coverage. To title an ATV, submit a completed form HSMV 82040 to a Motor Vehicle Service Center. (Sections 261.20, 316.2074 and 316.2123, Florida Statutes)

For more information on DACS approved safety courses, visit Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services – Off-Highway Vehicle Safety and Recreation.

bottom of page